Blog posts I want to write, when I have the time…

1. ‘in the case of the proper name, which is “not to be confused with the bearer,” one writes as the (still living) dead’ – Cryptomimesis: The Gothic and Jacques Derrida’s Ghost Writing, Carla Jodey Castricano. I bear the forenames of both my grandmothers. Are they writing as the (still living) dead?

2. Poststructuralism and schizophrenia… Schizophrenia is understood as an experience of an excess of meaning, similar in many respects to poststructural theories of language. The connection is explicit in texts like Capitalism and Schizophrenia, Gilles Deleuze and Felix Guattari. Another key critical theorist, Louis Althusser, suffered periods of intense mental illness, during one of which he murdered his wife. Perhaps the key text here is Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason, Michel Foucault.

3. Is Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple a ‘just’ serial killer? She painstakingly tracks down the killer just as the killer does their victim.

4. Does ‘terrorism’ equate to ‘treason’? Does it serve the same social function?

5. Consider the slug trail of a finger print on your mobile phone touch screen. Is ‘our’ touch always a site of celebration?

6. ‘I guess all that worrying finally paid off’: Is worry elliptical?

Given the choice, which full post would you most like to read?

About ejpollard

I was awarded my PhD from Manchester Metropolitan University, UK in December 2013. My thesis explored the notions of origin and ellipsis in the writing of contemporary British novelist Hilary Mantel. I want this blog to express the ideas I have in and around my academic writing. View all posts by ejpollard

One response to “Blog posts I want to write, when I have the time…

Leave a Reply

