‘Then I rejoyce…

‘Then I rejoyced, for tho’ he might conceeve himself to be the Pursuer in truth it was I who follow’d him; we were fix’d in the same Center and, tho’ moving contrary Ways at first, we were sure to encounter somewhere or other upon the Circumference’

Hawksmoor, Peter Ackroyd

About ejpollard

I was awarded my PhD from Manchester Metropolitan University, UK in December 2013. My thesis explored the notions of origin and ellipsis in the writing of contemporary British novelist Hilary Mantel. I want this blog to express the ideas I have in and around my academic writing. View all posts by ejpollard

One response to “‘Then I rejoyce…

  • abrameld

    Good quote – dreary novel though. Thank you for salvaging it for us. Once, I recommended an 800page novel to a friend thus: “it has this really great sentence in it …” I doubt she read it, 800pages for 1 sentence, life’s too short.

Leave a Reply

